Hive now gives you the power to create and manage set teams of people across your workspace. No more forgetting which colleagues should be invited to a project!
Creating a Team
To create a team go to the "Manage users" option under your avatar menu, and then select 'Teams' along the side panel.
Use the blue 'Create new team' button on the right, as shown below. You will have the option to create either an Internal Team (made up of regular workspace members), or an External Team (made up of external users). You cannot mix & match, however!
The "+Create Team" button will open the following options where you can enter a team name and select workspace members to be part of the team.
Adding a Team to a Project or Summary View
To add a team to an existing project, go to "Edit project" in the More menu and click avatars just beneath "Add project members". Once there, search for the team & invite.
For new projects available teams will also show up in the member list.
Adding a Team to a Group Chat
Teams can also be added to group chats!
Mentioning a Team in Chats and Comments
If a team has been included in a group chat, you can mention the whole team, and all team members will be notified. Simply type "@" to see a list of group chat members, and select the team!
You can also @mention teams in comments on action cards - as long as that team is a member of the project.
Remove someone from a team
In Teams, open the three-dot menu next to the team and select Edit team. Remove the person from the member list, then select Update team.
Removing someone from a team can also remove them from projects and group chats they joined through that team. The access rules below apply to that person.
Delete a team
Before you delete a team, check which members still need access to its projects and group chats.
Projects. If this is someone’s only team on a project, they can lose access even if you also added them to the project individually. The project owner and members of another team on the same project keep their access.
Group chats. The person who created the chat and anyone who belongs to another team in that chat keep their access. Other members of the deleted team are removed from the chat.
To delete the team, open its three-dot menu in Teams, select Delete team, then confirm with Delete. Afterward, add anyone who still needs access back to the relevant project or group chat.







