Whether out on vacation or in a meeting, it's important to be able to easily catch up on what's happened while you were away. 

Hive notifications makes it easy to keep track of these critical changes. 

To access your notifications, click the bell in the upper right corner of the app. 

If you have something new to review, an orange dot will appear next to the bell. 

Hive notifications are divided into two categories:

  • My notifications - Updates that are specific to you will live in the 'My notifications' tab. These are things such as new assignments, @ mentions, or direct chats. 
  • Activity feed - Updates on actions you are following*

*You become a Follower of an action card (and therefore start receiving notifications on the card) if you: 

  • Create the card
  • Are assigned to the card
  • Are @ mentioned in the comment section
  • Comment on the card

The goal is to make it easier to find what you need. When you want to know about changes to work you are assigned to, check My notifications. If you want to check on work that you are following, then go to Activity feed.

To reduce the overwhelmed feeling that too many notifications can give you, the bell will only show the number of new notifications in the My notifications list.

See below for a breakdown of when a notification arrives in My notifications vs Activity feed.

Reviewing your notifications

When you see the orange dot appear on your notifications bell, click it to see what's happened in Hive.

Read and archive

You can mark a notification as read, just like you would an email, and return to it later.

You can also click each item to go to the specific action card or message it references. This way, you can use your notifications as a to-do list of items you need to take action on.

Once you're ready, you can click "Archive" to remove the notification from your list.

Bulk actions and unarchive

Have a lot of notifications? Click "Mark all as read" to bulk read them. Then you can click "Archive all" to clear them from your list!

To go back and review an item you have already marked as read, click the "Archived" tab. You can select the "mark as unread" icon if you want to move it back to your notifications list.

Offline notifications 

When you are offline, notifications will also be pushed to your email and mobile in order for you to stay up to date with the latest changes. Your profile is moved to an 'offline' state when you exit out of the app or if you are inactive for 10 minutes. 

To manage your offline notification settings, go to your profile dropdown > Your profile > Notification settings. Here you can toggle On/Off both email and mobile offline notifications.

Note: this is also where you can manage banner notifications. If you would rather not receive banner notifications while active in the app, you can always toggle these 'Off' here.  

Did this answer your question?