Auto Scheduling Settings: Strict vs. Not Strict Scheduling

You can manage exactly how you want the dependencies to perform by choosing either 'Off', 'On', or 'Strict' or dependency relationships for a project on the 'Auto scheduling' settings page under the 'More' menu.

Additionally, the default auto-scheduling setting for new projects can be set on the Workspace Settings page by Admins. Note: Project Template auto-scheduling settings will override the default for new projects.

'Off': Duration and date changes to dependency and predecessor actions will not adjust other actions in the project.

'On': This will favor the dependent action's start date rather than the dependency link itself, meaning that the preceding action can move forward in time without affecting the dependent action. Only once the predecessor has passed the start date of the dependent action, will the dependent action move forward.

Additionally, if a predecessor action is completed in a shorter duration than planned, the dependent actions will not move forward automatically to account for the shorter duration adjustment.

'Strict': Strict scheduling (or 'ASAP' scheduling) means that all actions move together, no matter which direction they are moving. This is also where you can set strict lag or gap time. If a predecessor action is completed in a shorter duration than planned, the dependent actions will move forward automatically to account for the shorter duration adjustment.

Create the dependencies as normal. To create lag time, either click on the dependency link itself or write the advanced predecessor in the 'Predecessor' column. Now when one action moves forward or backward in time, they will all move together.

Pro-tip: when updating auto-scheduling settings, an update to the project is needed in order for the updated setting to apply.

Additionally, the predecessor column in Gantt is also where you can write advanced dependency functions (FS, FF, SS, SF + "Xd"). Use the formulate to add days of "lag" to the previous dependency. Like, "1.1FS+2d".

You may also set the default for the workspace, in the Workspace Settings page.

Did this answer your question?