When you're logging into Hive using Google, the prompt will ask you to allow Hive to 'See, edit, create, and delete all of your Google files'.

Why is Hive asking for these permissions?

This is because the 'Edit/delete permission' is part of the same scope which is used for file upload/document creation from the Google Drive files panel:

Just note that Hive does not have the ability for a user to delete a file from Google Drive from within Hive, but we do need permission to edit the file (i.e., creating a new file) if the user takes that action via the above option in the Google Drive panel.

Did this answer your question?