Skip to main content

Client Mode

Written by Ellen Kajca

Client Mode is a great option for when you’re sharing a project with external stakeholders and want to allow selective access to data.

To turn on Client Mode, click More (three dots) in the upper right corner of your project and select Enable client mode. Then choose if new actions are visible to external users by default: Keep hidden or Default to visible.


​

To see the project as external users see it, open List View, select Configure, and under Display select Externally visible actions only.

Enabling Client Mode turns on two features:
​

1. Private comments

When client mode is turned on, all comments in an action card will default to private,
​
Private comments will be not be visible to external users, only full access members in your project. If you use the switch under the comment input to turn the comment to public, all users, external or otherwise, will be able to see the comment.
​

The comment input will show an orange background when set to public so that users can quickly see that the comment that they are writing will be visible to everyone.
​

Private comments show as gray:


Public comments have an orange background so they are easily identifiable:

You can change the visibility of a comment after you post it. Click the pencil (Edit) icon on your comment, then use the switch under the comment. When the comment is private, the switch says Make visible for external users. When it is public, it says Visible to external users. Click Update to save. If you make a public comment private, external users can no longer see it.

2. Hide actions from external users

Each action card has a switch above the title. When the action is hidden, the switch says Make visible for external users. When the action is visible, it says Visible to external users.

To change the default for new actions, click More > Edit project > Actions > Action card settings, and use Default all actions when in client mode to be visible to external users. This setting shows only while Client Mode is on.

In List View you can add the External visibility column in any project. It shows Externally visible or Internal only for each action. Only the Externally visible actions only checkbox under Configure > Display needs Client Mode.

Did this answer your question?